ISTE20Creative
Constructor Lab
Digital
Leadership Summit
Edtech Advocacy &
Policy Summit

Classroom Clickbait - Tapping into Student Curiosity

Participate and share

Participate and share : Interactive lecture


Tuesday, June 25, 2:45–3:45 pm
Location: 119AB

David Clough   Alfonso Favale  
Clickbait works because it sparks your curiosity. We'll explore five techniques that you can use to grab students' interest. We'll show examples of each strategy, share how we have used them in real lessons and explore online tools for creating classroom clickbait.

Audience: Coaches, Teachers, Library media specialists
Skill level: Beginner
Attendee devices: Devices useful
Attendee device specification: Smartphone: Windows, Android, iOS
Laptop: Chromebook, Mac, PC
Tablet: Android, iOS, Windows
Participant accounts, software and other materials: Having a Google account is helpful, but not necessary.
Focus: Digital age teaching & learning
Topic: Instructional design and delivery
Grade level: PK-5
Subject area: Social studies, Science
ISTE Standards: For Educators:
Designer
  • Use technology to create, adapt and personalize learning experiences that foster independent learning and accommodate learner differences and needs.
  • Design authentic learning activities that align with content area standards and use digital tools and resources to maximize active, deep learning.
  • Explore and apply instructional design principles to create innovative digital learning environments that engage and support learning.

Proposal summary

Purpose & objective

The goal of this session is to provide educators with inspiration and resources for creating lessons that tap into students' natural curiosity based on the techniques used by online clickbait advertisements.
Participants will be able to identify at least five techniques used by clickbait advertisers and adapt those strategies into their classroom lessons to spark student interest. Participants will also be able to access a variety of online resources for inspiring curiosity and creating clickbait-style lessons.

Outline

-Provide an overview of clickbait strategies and the psychology behind them (10 minutes).
-Share ways we have adapted these strategies to the classroom and sample student projects (20 minutes).
-Explore a variety of free websites for inspiration and creation of clickbait-style lessons (20 minutes).
-Create and share your own clickbait worthy ideas. Q&A (10 minutes).

Supporting research

Why You Can't Resist Clicking on This Article: The Clickbait Conundrum https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/clickbait-conundrum-history-psychology-ethics
The Rise of Clickbait (and the Psychology Behind It) https://www.zembula.com/blog/rise-clickbait-psychology-behind/
Clickbait Can't Be Stopped Because of this Brain Function https://medium.com/boost-linguistics/clickbait-cant-be-stopped-because-of-this-brain-function-4111a4aca795
6 Ways to Use the Curiosity Gap in Your Marketing Campaigns https://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2017/04/10/curiosity-gap
How Curiosity Can Be Modeled for a Clickbait Detector https://arxiv.org/abs/1806.04212
The Psychology Triggers Behind Clickbait Titles and Why We Click Them https://www.jeremysaid.com/blog/psychology-behind-clickbait-titles/
The 5 Psychological Reasons You Can't Resist Clickbait https://www.inverse.com/article/4069-the-5-psychological-reasons-you-can-t-resist-clickbait
The Curiosity Gap https://www.skyword.com/contentstandard/creativity/the-curiosity-gap-how-consumer-psychology-is-driven-by-whats-missing/
Why Clickbait Works (and Why You Should Do More of It) https://neilpatel.com/blog/why-clickbait-works/
The Psychology of Curiosity https://www.researchgate.net/publication/232440476/download
11 Reasons We're Too Dumb To Resist Clickbait https://thebestschools.org/magazine/why-clickbait-works/

More [+]

Presenters

David Clough, Henrico County Public Schools
Alfonso Favale, Henrico Public Schools

People also viewed

Captivate Your Classroom: Create Your Own Virtual Training Modules
Google Tools for Struggling Students
World Cafe: Integrating Digital Citizenship and STEM