Creative Constructor
Lab Virtual
Leadership Exchange
at ISTELive 21
Edtech Advocacy &
Policy Summit

Online Games for Student Engagement

Times and dates are displayed based on your device's time zone setting.

Explore and create : Playground

This is presentation 3 of 3, at station "STATION 1: Student Engagement" within the playground "Empowering Students and Teachers in a Changing World"; scroll down to see more details.

Other presentations in this group:

Dr. Camille Dempsey  

Join us in this playground as we explore games for all levels of learning and get ideas for engaging your students online!

Audience: Teachers, Teacher education/higher ed faculty
Skill level: Beginner
Attendee devices: Devices useful
Attendee device specification: Laptop: Chromebook, Mac, PC
Topic: Games for learning & gamification
Grade level: 6-12
ISTE Standards: For Students:
Empowered Learner
  • Students articulate and set personal learning goals, develop strategies leveraging technology to achieve them and reflect on the learning process itself to improve learning outcomes.
Digital Citizen
  • Students cultivate and manage their digital identity and reputation and are aware of the permanence of their actions in the digital world.
For Educators:
Learner
  • Pursue professional interests by creating and actively participating in local and global learning networks.

Proposal summary

Purpose & objective

Participants will explore various online game resources.
Participants will be able to plan experiences with students that involve online games.

Outline

The presentation will follow the TEN playground schedule.
An overview of games (5 minutes)
We will be exploring various games during the session (a few minutes for each game).
Peer-to-peer interaction will be utilized, along with device-based activities.
More resources for games to explore on their own will be shared (5 minutes)
Q&A (5 minutes)

Supporting research

10 Board Games to Play Using Video Conferencing: https://www.nyfa.edu/student-resources/10-board-games-using-video-conferencing/
Apple Arcade Games for Family Fun: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/lists/apple-arcade-games-for-family-fun
Best Computer Games: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/lists/best-computer-games
Best Games on Google Stadia (Age 17+): https://www.commonsensemedia.org/lists/best-games-on-google-stadia
Brain Pop
Breakout Edu https://www.breakoutedu.com/
Classcraft: https://www.classcraft.com/
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/classcraft/kbdolponmgnnkabgmgedhijfhjfjnpke?hl=en-US
Common Sense Media Best Games: Recommendations for Families:
https://www.commonsensemedia.org/game-lists
Common Sense Media Game Reviews: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/game-reviews
Ditch that Textbook - 10 Game Hooks to Inspire Learning in Your Class: https://ditchthattextbook.com/game-hooks/
Ditch that Textbook - 20+ Resources for Engaging Game-Based Learning: https://ditchthattextbook.com/20-resources-for-engaging-game-based-learning/
Ditch that Textbook - 20 Ways to Gamify Your Class: https://ditchthattextbook.com/15-ways-to-gamify-your-class/
Ditch that Textbook - 75 Back to School Activities for The Remote Learning Classroom:
https://ditchthattextbook.com/back-to-school/
Ditch that Textbook - Game Show Classroom: Comparing Kahoot!m Quizzizz, Quizlet Live, and Gimkit: https://ditchthattextbook.com/game-show-classroom-comparing-kahoot-quizizz-quizlet-live-and-quizalize/
Ditch that Textbook - Gamification: https://ditchthattextbook.com/category-gamification/
Ditch that Textbook - How Video Games Can Help Students in Class, at Home: https://ditchthattextbook.com/how-video-games-can-help-students-in-class-at-home/
Game Reviews (Common Sense Media): https://www.commonsensemedia.org/reviews/category/game/genre/educational-4376
Gimkit: https://www.gimkit.com/
Google Quick Draw: https://quickdraw.withgoogle.com/
Kahoot: https://kahoot.com/
Kahoot for Schools: https://kahoot.com/schools/how-it-works/
Mr. Matera Gamification Videos: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCD6Twy3-HRnKa07H6xG3Ylw
Nearpod Time to Climb: https://nearpod.com/time-to-climb
Play Games Online: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/lists/play-games-online
Scratch Games (and Design Games): https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/
Teaching with Board Games: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIHrFyeeOLmNCsKewqb8KvA
The Best Board Games to Play Over Zoom: https://nymag.com/strategist/article/board-games-to-play-over-zoom-facetime.html

More [+]

Presenters

Photo
Dr. Camille Dempsey, Edinboro University

Dr. Camille Dempsey is an Assistant Professor of Middle & Secondary Education/Educational Leadership at Edinboro University where she teaches educational technology, research and methods courses. Her research includes a focus on virtuality culture theory and the ways that contemporary technology mediates human presence in the ways society is connecting, exploring and communicating. Most recently she received the PAECT Higher Education Technology Impact Award for a journal article she wrote.

People also viewed

Blended Learning: Station Rotation Reimagined
Empower, engage, include: Supporting accessible classroom environments 
Fortnite Creative: Leveraging Student Expertise in Content Creation