Edtech Solutions
Network Summit
Edtech Advocacy &
Policy Summit

Presenter Details

Dr. Sheryl Abshire, Formerly with Calcasieu Parish Sch Bd
ISTE affiliate: LACUE, TCEA
ISTE Certified Educator
Sheryl Abshire, Ph.D., is the recently retired chief technology officer (CTO) for Calcasieu Parish Public Schools in Louisiana. A longtime transformational technology innovation and integration expert, she has led the infusion of technology into curriculum for districts and states in the U.S. and internationally. Abshire has been a teacher, principal, library/media specialist, CTO and associate professor. She’s also an accomplished grant writer, trainer and reviewer for the National Science Foundation (NSF). A founding member of ISTE NETS/ISTE Standards and Accreditation Committee, she’s deeply involved in infusing technology into standards-based instruction. Abshire is an ISTE Certified Educator, and the first teacher inducted into the U.S. National Teachers’ Hall of Fame. She was appointed to the U.S. Department of Education’s Technical Writing Team to create the new National Educational Technology Plan; is a nationally recognized consultant, speaker and educator; and was appointed by the FCC to the USAC board representing the nation's schools/libraries on E-rate matters. As a sought-after speaker on educational and technology issues, she has presented and published nationally and internationally about funding, leadership, education and technology issues. ISTE awarded her the first Public Policy Advocate of the Year Award for her decades of work promoting educational technology. Additionally, she was honored with the prestigious ISTE Making It Happen Award. Abshire is the chair of the Louisiana CTO Council and former president and vice president of advocacy and programs for the Louisiana ISTE affiliate LACUE.

In-person sessions

E-Rate, Homework Gap and Edtech Policy: What's It All About?

Shock and Awe: Technology Strategies and Tactics

Virtual sessions

Leadership Perceptions on Building Culture and Impact With ISTE Certified Educators